The Commission after consultation with the Minister has appointed the Biosafety Council in accordance with section 19 of the Research, Science and Technology Act, 2004 (Act 23 of 2004) read together with section 5 (2) and section 6 of the Biosafety Act, 2006 (Act 7 of 2006). Council members will serve for a period of three (3) years as stipulated in section 9 (1) of the Biosafety Act, 2006. The appointment term begins on 01 July 2021, and it will end on 30 June 2024.

Prof Martha Kandawa-Schulz (Chairperson)

Molecular Biology

Ms. Victoria Weyulu (Deputy Chairperson)


Salomon Tsanigab

Public health issues, including food hygiene and food safety

Mr. Moses Moses

Environmental Issues including Environmental Assessment

Ms. Priska Naimhwaka

Trade and economy

Dr. Natascha Cheikhyoussef

Research, science and technology

Dr. Milton Maseke

Animal health and welfare or other related agricultural issues